Home / Guides / Startups

Startups

Linkrunner for Startups: Free Installs and Costs

What Linkrunner's free plan and Startup Program include: 25k free installs, or 50k for VC-backed teams, when billing starts and how rival free plans compare.

Short answer

Linkrunner's free plan gives 25k attributed installs once, with no credit card and no calendar expiry, and VC-backed teams in the Startup Program get 50k. After that, billing is postpaid at $0.012 per attributed install up to 10k a month, falling to $0.007 above 500k.

What is the Linkrunner free plan?

The Linkrunner free plan is a one-time allowance of 25k attributed installs, with every feature included, no credit card and no calendar expiry.

Attributed install: an install Linkrunner measures and attributes to its source. It is the unit Linkrunner's pricing counts.

One-time allowance: free installs that are used up once rather than reset each month. They last until you use them, however long that takes.

The free plan includes:

  • Attribution, with deep linking that is dynamic and deferred by default
  • Fraud protection, unlimited seats, and CSV, API and webhook exports
  • Organic attribution and the SKAN 4.0 wizard
  • 30-day data retention and a 3-month lookback
  • Up to 999 campaigns or links and 1M custom events a month

Linkrunner's MMP for startups page sums it up as every feature on every plan, free until the 25,000th install.

What does the Startup Program add?

Teams that have raised at least $125K from an institutional investor (a VC, accelerator or syndicate) and were incorporated within the last 3 years get two things on top of the free plan:

  • 50k free installs instead of 25k
  • Dedicated onboarding

Bootstrapped and angel-only teams use the standard 25k free installs.

Details are on Linkrunner's Startup Program page.

When do you start paying for Linkrunner?

You start paying once the free installs are used up, and then only for attributed installs after they happen, billed postpaid. There is no upfront annual payment and no lock-in.

Growth pricing per attributed install:

Attributed installs a monthPrice per install
Up to 10k$0.012
10k to 50k$0.010
50k to 100k$0.009
100k to 500k$0.008
Above 500k$0.007

Linkrunner also publishes a separate rupee rate card for teams billed in India.

This is volume pricing, not graduated: one rate applies to every billable install in the month, set by that month's total.

Growth also raises the free plan's limits: 365-day data retention, 10M custom events a month, unlimited campaigns and links, and flexible lookback.

How long do the free installs last?

It depends on your volume. Three worked examples at list price:

Installs a month25k free lasts50k free lastsMonthly cost after
10kAbout 2.5 monthsAbout 5 monthsAbout $120
20kAbout 5 weeksAbout 2.5 monthsAbout $200
50kAbout 2 weeksAbout a monthAbout $500

Try your own number on the cost calculator, which compares every vendor with a published price at the same volume.

How other MMPs' free plans compare

Free plans differ in three ways: what they count, whether they reset and whether they expire.

VendorFree allowanceTime limitPaid price after
Linkrunner25k installs, one time (50k for VC-backed teams)None$0.012 to $0.007 per install
AppsFlyer12k conversionsUse within the first 12 months$0.07 per conversion
Adjust1,500 conversions a month (Base)First 12 monthsNot published
SingularUp to 15k paid conversionsNot stated whether monthly or lifetime$0.05 per conversion
Kochava10k conversions a monthNone statedFoundation from $500 a month
Tenjin2k conversions a monthPricing page and FAQ disagree$0.04 per extra conversion; plans from $200 a month
Airbridge30-day trial30 daysFrom $40 a month, per data point
BranchFree trial on BasicsLength not statedNot published
AppMetricaInstalls not counted; 100M custom events a monthNone stated$0.80 per extra million events

Kochava's free plan resets every month, so an app that stays under 10k conversions a month can stay on it longer than on any one-time allowance. Past that, Kochava's Foundation plan starts at $500 a month for up to 33k conversions, against about $330 at Linkrunner for 33k installs. The Linkrunner vs Kochava matchup has the rest.

AppMetrica does not charge for installs at all, but fraud detection is a paid add-on there, while Linkrunner includes it on every plan. The feature matrix shows what each vendor puts on its free or entry plan, and MMP Price Watch's free plan comparison tracks the caps and catches as they change.

Is Linkrunner the right fit for your startup?

Linkrunner is built for mobile apps running performance marketing. It is not a good fit for web-only or B2B-only products, or for apps with fewer than 100k lifetime installs and no plan to spend on acquisition. If you are unsure, the four-question quiz matches your volume and priorities to a vendor in about thirty seconds.

Questions

Asked often

Is Linkrunner free for startups?

Yes, up to 25k attributed installs, used once, with no credit card and no calendar expiry. VC-backed teams in the Startup Program get 50k free installs instead.

Do Linkrunner's free installs expire?

No. The 25k free installs have no calendar expiry, so they last until you use them. AppsFlyer's 12k free conversions, by contrast, must be used within the first 12 months.

What happens after the free installs run out?

Billing moves to postpaid pay-as-you-go: $0.012 per attributed install up to 10k a month, falling to $0.007 above 500k. There is no upfront annual payment and no lock-in.

Who qualifies for the Linkrunner Startup Program?

Teams that have raised at least $125K from an institutional investor and were incorporated within the last 3 years. They get 50k free installs instead of 25k and dedicated onboarding.

What is limited on Linkrunner's free plan?

None of the features: every one, including deep linking, fraud protection, exports and unlimited seats, is on every plan. The free plan has 30-day data retention, a 3-month lookback, up to 999 campaigns or links and 1M custom events a month, all of which Growth raises.

Does any MMP have a bigger free plan than Linkrunner?

Kochava's free plan gives 10k conversions every month, which outlasts a one-time allowance for an app that stays small. Once an app grows past that, Linkrunner costs less than Kochava's Foundation plan at $500 a month.

Still comparing? Start with the free one.

25k attributed installs free, no credit card, no expiry. Deep linking, fraud protection and exports included.

Start free with Linkrunner